AN ACT relating to industrial hemp.

Be it enacted by the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Kentucky:

- → Section 1. KRS 260.857 is amended to read as follows:
- (1) The Kentucky Industrial Hemp Commission is created and is attached to the University of Kentucky Agricultural Experiment Station for administrative purposes.
- (2) The membership of the commission shall consist of at least the following members:
 - [(a) The Speaker of the House of Representatives or the Speaker's designee;]
 - [(b) The President of the Senate or the President's designee;]
 - [(c) The chair of the Senate Agriculture Committee;]
 - [(d) The chair of the House Agriculture and Small Business Committee;]
 - <u>(a)</u>[(e)] The Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture or the Commissioner's designee;
 - **(b)**[(f)] The commissioner of the Department of Kentucky State Police or the commissioner's designee;
 - (c)[(g)] The executive director of the Governor's Office of Agricultural Policy or the executive director's designee;
 - (d)[(h)] The dean of the University of Kentucky College of Agriculture or the dean's designee;
 - (e)[(i)] One (1) member representing each of the following institutions choosing to participate in the commission:
 - 1. Eastern Kentucky University;
 - 2. Kentucky State University;
 - 3. Morehead State University;
 - 4. Murray State University;
 - 5. Northern Kentucky University;
 - 6. University of Louisville; and

- 7. Western Kentucky University;
- $(\underline{D}[(i)])$ The president of the Kentucky Hemp Growers Cooperative Association;
- (g)[(k)] The president of the Kentucky Sheriffs' Association or the association president's designee;
- (h)[(1)] The president of the Kentucky Association of Chiefs of Police or the association president's designee;
- (i) [(m)] Six (6) members, three (3) appointed by the Speaker of the House and three (3) by the President of the Senate, representing the following interests:
 - 1. Kentucky farmers with an interest in growing industrial hemp;
 - 2. Retailers of industrial hemp products;
 - 3. Wholesalers of industrial hemp products; and
 - 4. Manufacturers of industrial hemp products; and
- <u>(j)</u> [(n)] Two (2) at-large members on a recommendation of the chair and approved by a majority of the members of the commission.
- (3) (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection, members appointed pursuant to subsection (2)(i)[(m)] and (j)[(n)] of this section shall serve a term of four (4) years, and may be reappointed.
 - (b) The term of office of each member appointed pursuant to subsection (2)(i)[(m)] and (j)[(n)] of this section, who is serving on the commission on June 25, 2013, shall expire on December 31, 2013. Upon the expiration of a member's term of office pursuant to this paragraph, that position shall be filled by appointment as provided in this section.